Read 23 comments as:
Filter By
I've been seeing quite a few threads of LI recently pertaining to people wanting to work abroad. That got me thinking. I want to know how are the opportunities abroad like for lawyers. I'm currently in my third year so I think I have time to prepare for a career abroad. I'm up for an MBA as well as that has always been on my mind. General comments?
JD/LLM/MBA/anything else?
Are there any good career opportunities in foreign countries for law grads from India? Can LLM help me get a job in foreign countries?
Law and overseas do not go hand in hand ! Barely three to four out of every class make it abroad ! Switch your career line, if you intend to settle abroad. This is the best thing to do !
I agree with your point about switching fields. Does anyone have any recommendations? I'm looking at NZ / Canada as my preferred destination.
Naah.......

These 2 are easy options for you. Canada has something like a series of tests (NCA Exams- Law), which you have to take to become a solicitor (1 year) You can't go to Quebec thou. New Zealand also it is possible to convert your Indian Law Degree.

But trust me, the pay is so low in Canada and even NZ, if you are going to firms in Bay Street it will be manageable, but almost impossible to get unless you have worked in a Tier 1 Law Firm in India.

Even some T1/2 A3's in India (AZB, CAM, Wadia Gandhy & likes) who migrated to Canada are doing low-paying immigration filing and compliance work. Canada is not an international business hub like London and it has a small economy unlike the US, so does the work. You may even start your career for C$30 K per year (almost poverty wages)

It will take 10 years for you to settle in as a lawyer in Canada. After 10 years, even if you start at a small firm you can make CA$150K (good life in the suburbs) Is it worth it----- ask yourself.