Read 22 comments as:
Filter By
I am a final year law student at one of the private law schools in India. I already suffer from severe anxiety and occasional heart palpitation issues. Will it worsen if I choose to join a law firm. After reading a number of comments on the page, I realised how toxic and stress inducing the environment is at most Indian law firms. In such a situation what other alternatives can I opt for. I would also like to put it on record that money is an important factor for me so should I just ignore everything and keep trying for that law firm job?
Don't join.

I have seen the healthiest struggle at firms. Or join a small Tier 3 Office-where you make terms clear; there also they will make you work, hours are long- but pressure is less-pay is also less.

Have seen law school toppers (overall) leaving firms to take up less stressful jobs. If anyone is telling a Tier 1/2 job isn't stressful. They are either lying or haven't worked at one. The first 10 years are really stressful. Even if you make a partner your hours may get reduced, but not the stress and accountability.
What do I mean by a Tier 3 firm - where you make your terms clear?

It can even be a Botique firm. In a Big Firm unless you are a Senior SA/PA/Partner you are nobody. You are just a number for the HR. If you go your role will be filled in 2 weeks through a referral.

In a Big Firm you have Zero bargaining power. But you leave it for a smaller one where you will get paid less. But you can have some bargaining power - tell that you want better hours and less money - not money, the small firm lawyers/hr will be willing to accommodate you. Or try and get into a chilled out In-House team. Maximum you will have to sit till 7 a day. No daily night calls and weekends.

Better than loosing a decade at a T1/T2.