Read 19 comments as:
Filter By
Here's my story. Senior Advocate. Delhi. Filthy rich. Fancy bungalow and cars. I worked as an intern for 7 days and sometimes worked till midnight. B*****d gave no money. On last day of internship he just gave me a dairy milk chocolate and shook my hand. Gave me a reco letter, but with my last name spelt slightly wrong. I asked if he could print it again. He said one must save paper. Used a whitener and corrected it with a pen.
To be fair, he don't have policy of paying internship stipend. Many corporate law firms too don't pay internship stipends, Senior Advocates are extremely successful and busy, still he found time and was nice enough to give a dairy milk, reco letter and also shook hands with you.
1 week internships are generally unpaid.
Long term term interns are paid.
Lul and lul paid 10k to its nlu interns and refused stipend to other TLC interns. Even kem cho and co didn't pay stipend saying they are not paying stipend to interns in this climate while I have heard they paid nlu intended 8k.
Being a 3rd year associate at one of the Tier 1 firms, I am personally not happy with most of the non-NLU interns. There are some exceptional cases for sure. An intern from a private law college in Odisha was by far one of the best interns I have ever met. But in most of the cases, I end up being disappointed with non-NLU interns.

On the contrary, the top 5-6 NLU interns are mostly good.

So, I think it's a fair policy to generally pay NLU interns some stipend. The quality of work is definitely not the same.
Say whatever. But it's a true estimation of the general experience. No bias/prejudice, but sheer experience. That's why bothered to add "personally" not happy.

In the corporate world, you don't get anything as given.

Firms don't make such policies overnight, but is based on reasonable observations. L&L and KCO are happy for themselves. Hope you never get to feel sorry for yourself.