Read 41 comments as:
Filter By
I am a fifth year law student, starting my law firm career in about 3 months. I have heard a lot of negative things about law firms on this forum lately. The optimist in me doesn't want to believe that all is so bad at law firms.

Can we please narrate the good things about law firms? Hopefully, these experiences along with the previous thread will perhaps give us a better and balanced perspective about law firms.

Hope and positivity,
Curiously on LI since 2018
Curious kidd
Money. Low entry barrier. Basic knowledge of English, and ability to handle search engines would suffice. Almost no knowledge of law required. Less need to carry out daily chores, since you won't be having a personal life outside work.
But what can you pivot into after ten years at a law firm. Many ships have sailed in terms of making a massive career switch. And does the usual exit to an in house role actually make any difference in terms of work hours / culture etc ?
1. Money. Especially as you rise higher in the ranks.

2. If you are lucky, you will meet some nice seniors and also people who will prove to be true friends. I know I have found a few and I am thankful for that.

3. It will give you an education by exposing you to different kinds of people and situations. You will be forced out of your echo-chamber surely.

4. It is no different from life really. It is difficult, challenging, not always a meritocracy and at the end, you have to decide what you want to make of it, including walking away when needed.