Read 27 comments as:
Filter By
I am currently in my fourth year of law school, my college just announced results for the first semester of my 4th year and I find myself confronted with an extremely challenging situation as I have accumulated 16 backlogs resulting from a series of unfortunate family circumstances that led to prolonged absenteeism in exams. I do acknowledge that I have a higher count of backlogs compared to most of my peers, and majority of people who pass law school but I have heard that 1-2 backlogs are perceived as inconsequential. I am from a lower-tier college in Mumbai and possessing a below-average CV, I am genuinely worried about the potential repercussions this might have on my future career prospects. I need to know how these backlogs might affect my future career prospects and the weightage given to these backlogs during the recruitment process?
tbh, u won't get a good job. Start preparing for Judiciary/other govt exams.
Focus on building your CV. Most firms don’t ask for your marks card anyway
What? Marks matter the most, they determine rank. Having backlogs puts you out of the rank list entirely. It is going to be a huge problem.
That is if you go through the placement route. Through the ppo route no one gives a shit about marks. I got a ppo in the 4th year and I was interning with the firm for a year, the partners didn't even know which college I was from or which year, they saw the work and recommended me for a ppo.
Join a chamber as an intern, small one and aim for counsel practice
I mean, 16! thats an impressive number! It will be difficult to convince employers that you would be a good hire with that. Add to that the lower tier college and the admittedly below average CV- Youre not really giving recruiters any reason to think things will turn around. I suggest you either work towards examinations, or you start in litigation and do the grind for a few years until you are able to pivot. law firms look unlikely to be honest.