Read 12 comments as:
Filter By
I have been doing litigation in Delhi for 7 Years and want to continue doing the same, but then there are days when I feel low, I self-doubt myself, and wonder if I will be able to sustain myself. What's your strategy to cope with the same and how do you deal with the uncertainty?
this thread needs to get attention. if someone here can give any inputs on this.

i am also in the same kind of boat
Left litigation after 2 years to move into business. Haven’t ever regretted that decision. Glad I didn’t waste 5-7 years to gather the courage.
OMG. Some people said that slogging for a few years in litigation could make one earn adequate enough to not just feed themselves but their families. Doesn't 7 years of experience enable somewhat a financial plank? If not, then those who sell this dream that litigation mai khoob Paisa hai baad Mai are no different than directors of coaching centres who tell students NLU ke baad mauj hi mauj hai.
We dont.There is no certainty ever.

The sense of security you are looking for is what drives most people into corporate law jobs.

I am surprised that you are asking about it after 7 PQE. Everyone knows about the challenging road of Litigation as soon as they intern in/join them.

Things are not better even in DHC or SC, only top 1-5% earn luxury level of income, rest 10-75% make average and rest just drag their practise and carry on.
There is way more stability as a corporate lawyer. In litigation - you can win a matter and also lose a matter. Retaining the client after losing the matter is extremely tough. Often bills don't get cleared post a loss. In corporate, the downside risk is that the transaction doesn't close, more often than not that's on commercial issues and the client hasn't lost - his capital is still intact. Litigation is for those who are either deeply passionate about it or have a family legacy to carry forward.