Read 25 comments as:
Filter By
Hi, I'm a first year BALLB student from NLSIU. I'm severely visually impaired from one eye and moderately impaired from the other. My disability is visible. Just wanted to know the scene regarding disabled people in law firms. I know that for many this period is too early for me to be thinking about law firms (at least this is what I have been told) but I'm genuinely curious since every single person that I have asked has never given me a definitive answer. Any comment would be appreciated.
There is a person in NALSAR who faced the same issue, Tier 1s rejected them again and again, he has taken an in-house role to my knowledge. Another person with a growth issue however still got the job, it may depend from office to office and team to team. But I'd suggest you give it your all anyway, more power to you!
Just to add to this, you could actually reach out to this person from NALSAR β€” a simple Linkedin would do. He's not joining any in-house; he accepted an offer from a top-tier disputes-focussed law firm in Bangalore. After his name was unceremoniously removed from multiple shortlists by most Tier 1s, I've heard that the Nalsar alumni network played a good role in ensuring that his achievements (he supposedly has been one of the toppers throughout) and skills got their due weightage in the recruitment process.

So, my suggestion to you is simple: give it your best shot, have tangible achievements, and don't feel shy in reaching out to your alumni network β€” it's undoubtedly the country's best.