Read 10 comments as:
Filter By
Hi, I am a third-year law student, and I have decided that I want to learn about M&A. Can you please guide me on how to start? Which books should I read? What laws should I be proficient in? Lastly, if I want to write articles on it, which sites do I need to follow?
Atleast intern at a T2 or boutique firm specializing in M&A/GC Advisory post which you can make an effort to first understand the nature of due diligence conducted. You can then interlink aspects of the DD while assessing the broader scope of compliance pursuant to any said developments pertaining to the same. Lastly, reading the development as against the erstwhile regime will sometimes (if not always) raise and leave unanswered questions which shall form the subject matter of your argument in the paper. Once you figure out this structure, writing articles will be a cakewalk.

Proficiency in The Companies Act, 2013 (for the most part will be required in M&A); adjusting for an end to end reading of underlying aspects pertaining to tax, anti-trust, restructuring and disclosure norms across other practice areas.

Sites to follow:

1) Taxmann

2) IndiaCorpLaw

3) MoneyControl

4) BQPrime

5) Business Standard

6) NDA Blogs

7) Khaitan Ergo Updates

8) IndusLaw Publications

9) S&R Publications

10) CBCL, NLIU Bhopal
Jindal has a series of videos on M&A that's kinda nice. Get familiar with the business landscape, keep up with the news and look out for the legal angle in every headline you see: how would this deal have gone through?