Read 12 comments as:
Filter By
I graduated from a top NLU In 2022 and have been grinding away in a Tier 2 law firm for over a year now, focusing only on arbitration in the Infrastructure and Energy sectors. Lately, I've been actively trying to make a switch to a Tier 1 firm, but it's proving to be quite a challenge. The job postings I see from headhunters either want more experience than I have or a holistic disputes background. I'm starting to wonder if there just aren't many openings out there, or if I'm missing something. Any tips on how to make a lateral move without relying solely on headhunters? Additionally, I've got a few opportunities in Project Finance too. Since I'm not really sure about diving into disputes (other than arbitration), do you think it's worth considering these opportunities?
Tier 1, 2 PQE. Not getting job opportunities. Being beaten by candidates with more work experience. Bad time to switch.

Yeh switching sab ke liye easy hota hai na, Laxman?
Ask freshers who are finding difficult to start their career. Job opportunities are extremely low and the opportunities put out most often say want more than 1 year, 2 year PQE. Ab kare toh kya kare? Internships!?
For practice areas like M&A, B&F and Capital Markets - lateral hiring is way more smoother given the attrition at the T1 firms. Personally know of HRs and Counsels reaching out to T2 A1s and A2s post deal announcements of such firms if they find them worth the buck with 1-2 years of PQE in the aforementioned practice areas. Keep trying and reach out to partners, if required. Best of luck!