Read 17 comments as:
Filter By
I'm currently a second-year literature student at LSR and am trying to figure out what to do after my degree. I never seriously considered law as an option because I was under the impression that the 3-year degrees from CLC, GLC and the likes put you at a significant disadvantage compared to 5-year BA LLB grads from NLUs. However, I recently found out that a handful of my seniors (some of the brightest in their batch, with Master's offers from Oxbridge and Ivies that they declined for financial reasons) have joined the 3 year LLB programme at NLSIU.

Law students and lawyers, what's the verdict on this new degree? Students will obviously be at some kind of disadvantage because they don't have the same kind of legacy and alumni base BA LLB students do. But is this disadvantage significant enough to make the degree a bad investment? Or will the brand name and generally good calibre of students it seems to be attracting balance that out?

Since I've been told this matters a lot: I'm not from a family of lawyers. I do have close family friends who are very successful lawyers/judges, but none of them are in corporate law, which I'm told the NLUs focus on. I don't know anywhere near enough about the field to have decided what kind of law I would want to practice, but I don't want to make peanuts since (a) the degree would be a significant investment of my parents' money and (b) if I was comfortable with a 20k/month job, I'd just look for one after my BA.
Makes sense, but if I had the time to wait for a few batches to graduate, I wouldn't be asking this question here :')
Then you should stick to more recognised 3 year courses. That's obvious from the other comment.