Read 17 comments as:
Filter By
Hi guys, please help your girl out!

I am in my final year from a Non NLU law school, and am a resident of Delhi, willing to practice here itself. From whatever little experience I’ve gathered over these 5 years, doing internships etc., I strongly feel that I want to grow my career in litigation, it’s almost as if it’s my passion (apologies but my ADHD brain doesn’t let me settle with one “passion” haha), BUT at the same time I have an opportunity to join Trilegal (hopefully in their dispute resolution team), and we all know how well they pay.

Now it is important that you know that my parents are separated and I stay with my mum, even though she is working, she doesn’t keep well and I will virtually be the sole earner for 3 people, including myself and my 2 dogs.

I know this for sure that what I really want to pursue is litigation.

I need help from you guys to help me with this dilemma. What should I go ahead with, litigation or a Law Firm job?
Take the law firm job, stay there for around 2 years, save as much as possible then move to litigation.
If there is not any financial constraints, u should opt for litigation, "SKY IS THE LIMIT", Otherwise its upon ur discretion!!
Litigation can be fatal if :-

1. You are not financially strong even before you start. It is called a noble profession - only nobilities (big families) can survive and thrive. It has a long gestation period of learning and maintain clientele. If you need to ask this question then the answer is 'No'.

2. Your Daddy/Uncle have 15-20 cases in your diary on your first day and is ready to support you and give you appearances in court.

But even in absence of these two conditions you can definitely litigate but you will rethink your career choices after a few years down the road.

So, here's what I can suggest -

1. Join a law firm and build your savings , contacts and connect with peers who are litigating in your niche area