Read 10 comments as:
Filter By
Ah a question I can finally answer. When I graduated (around 2015, not revealing exact batch) from a Tier 1 NLU, I had two options, either join an Indian firm (AZB/AMSS) from Day Zero or join a Magic Circle firm. I tried to double-dip, I worked for a year at the Indian firm and joined the following cycle of trainee solicitors at the MC firm. I continued to work in London post qualification, and after a few years there, pivoted back to the same Indian firm as a PA. I am ahead (seniority and pay) of my batch in the firm now. Here's my take.

London is good in that it exposes you to the highest levels of international transactional work. That comes with it, the professionalism that is inevitable - every other person on a transaction, be they a lawyer, an accountant, a consultant, the target, the acquirer, the bank, the press (eg FT coverage) are leagues ahead of their equivalent in India. So that really elevates you. Upon returning, I notice that there is way less of that in India. As a PA, I do business development - so the lack of professionalism I see in the marketplace, clients and so on is very clear. On the other hand, you have way more ownership of the work at my level (than the peers I left behind in London). You do more of the heavy lifting, and are accountable for better results.

Work-life balance, other interests, hobbies and such are not prioritized in the Indian firms. In London, I was able to do marathons and cycle; the firm paid for tennis training, weekends were usually respected and so on. As you can imagine, none of that is given serious consideration in Lower Parel.