Read 21 comments as:
Filter By
I'm a first-generation lawyer from a middle-class family in a Tier 1 NLU (Top3). The reason I chose law is that I would be able to practice inside a court, not sit behind computers and do clerical work in a law firm. But this thread is so hostile towards litigation and discourages any law student without connections to go this path that I have no hope anymore. The threads and other opinions have made me realize that the law profession has become a joke and only the corporate path is being chosen by the students to do clerical work for a corporate boss. Nobody is choosing litigation as a profession nowadays and it is only dominated by a few senior advocates and well-connected families. If this is the condition of law as a profession in India, then the rise of young litigators from NLU's will become non-existent due to lack of connections and money. What use is a law education in the top institutes of the country if 90% of the batch are opting for corporate firms to work as slaves?
You are from top 3, no rules said on this apply to you buddy, you could quit your law firm job to begin litigation right away, you might quit litigation and still tier 2/3 firms will hire you. You've been admitted into the best (one of) the lae colleges in India and you are at a position where you may do and succeed at anything, there is a reason clat is the benchmark of future lawyers, you've cleared that benchmark and to be frank many chambers in Delhi would pick you at a decentish salary just on your college name at the first instance. So chill and let others struggle, you just connect to your college's alumni and they'll set you up with good internships too. Cheers mate!πŸ₯‚