•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

PH Parekh beats Aggarwala, Jethmalani in razor-edge SCBA victory

Supreme Court: Changing of the guard
Supreme Court: Changing of the guard
Exclusive: Pravin Parekh has won the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) election, defeating former vice chairman Adish Aggarwala by a margin of only two votes, also leaving behind the incumbent Ram Jethmalani.

Supreme Court advocate Parekh, who has contested a number of SCBA elections and had a place on the committee several times since 2003, yesterday won the election with 757 votes.

Adish Agarwal, who was a previous vice chairman and supported the incumbent Jethmalani in last year’s elections, managed to gather 755 votes – only two fewer than the victor Parekh.

Jethmalani also finished behind Parekh by only a slim margin on 735 votes. Last year Jethmalani won the post by 367 votes after Raju Ramachandran had stepped up at the last minute for the post, as reported by Legally India in May 2010.

Rakesh Khanna won the post of vice-president and KC Kaushik won to become the SCBA’s new secretary.

Parekh was unavailable for comment at the time of going to press. Vishal Prasad, an advocate in Parekh’s chambers, confirmed the results to Legally India.

Click to show 4 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.