•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences
An estimated 3-minute read

19th M. C Chagla Memorial Government Law College National Moot Court Competition, 2013.

 Email  Facebook  Tweet  Linked-in

The Government Law College, Mumbai in association with the Chief Justice M. C. Chagla Memorial Trust is pleased to announce the 19th M. C. Chagla Memorial Government Law College National Moot Court Competition on 12th & 13th January, 2013.

Established in 1855, the Government Law College, Mumbai, currently in its 158th year of glorious existence, has enriched the legal fraternity with some of the best legal minds. GLC, as it is fondly known, has become synonymous with legal education in India. Being the oldest institution imparting legal knowledge, not only in India, but in Asia, has carved a niche for itself in the process of shaping the legal fraternity of tomorrow.


Stalwarts of Indian legal history, such as Mr. A. A. A. Fyzee, Sir Dinshaw Mulla and Dr. B. R. Ambedkar – Father of the Indian Constitution, have all been Principals of this college. The first Chief Justice of India Mr. Harilal Kania, former Chief Justices of India, Mr. M. H. Kania, Mr. P. N. Bhagwati and Mr. S. P. Bharucha were all nutured in this institution. Justice M. C. Chagla, the first Indian Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court, Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak, freedom fighter, and Motilal Setalvad, the first Attorney General of India, were also students of this venerated institution. Additionally, the illustrious GLC alumni includes the present Hon’ble Chief Justice of India, Mr. S. H. Kapadia & Attorney General, Mr. G. E. Vahanvaty. Legal luminaries like Mr. Nani Palkhivala, Justice A. P. Shah, Justice F. I. Rebello, and Mr. Soli Sorabjee all began their careers at the Government Law College. The contribution of the institute's alumni to the jurisprudential and constitutional growth of India is certainly unparalleled.


The Moot Court Association (MCA) of Government Law College was established in 1955 by the then Hon'ble Minister of Education, Mr. Dinkar R. Desai. The heritage of the Moot Court Association spans over half a century. The primary objective of the Association is to provide the students of Government Law College with a platform to gain exposure to the practical aspects of the legal profession. The concept of a 'Moot', or a 'Mock Court' is well established and universally recognized as a co-curricular activity pursued by law students. Moot Courts have become an integral part of the curriculum for students of Government Law College. The exposure, practical knowledge and experience, which one gains through these Moot Courts, are second to none. These competitions are judged by sitting judges of the Bombay High Court, senior advocates and practicing lawyers of the city. This opportunity provided to the students by the MCA helps them carve a niche for themselves in the legal profession.


The M. C. Chagla Memorial Moot Court Competition began as a city-level moot court competition, which was later expanded to a state-level competition. Due to the overwhelming response that this competition had been receiving, since its previous edition, the Competition has gone National and will now witness the finest 16 of the finest law colleges across India competing to win the coveted trophy.


This Competition has been instituted in memory of Late Mr. M. C. Chagla, the First Indian Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court. Late Mr. M. C. Chagla was a renowned Indian jurist who worked tirelessly for the causes of civil liberty, individual freedom and political democracy. He also served as the Ambassador to USA, Mexico, Cuba, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Bombay, High Commissioner to England and Union Minster for Education. Chief Justice M. C. Chagla also served as a Professor at the Government Law College for a number of years. The Competition, based on Constitutional Law, embodies his tireless commitment to preserving the sanctity of the Constitution and his determined fight against the horrors of the Emergency. The Final Round of Arguments shall be presided over by a bench of 3 sitting Judges of the Bombay High Court thus making this Moot Court Competition a fitting tribute to his legacy.

The Competition has a unique and challenging format. Teams will be required to argue on two Moot Propositions through two Preliminary, one Quarter-Final, Semi-Final and Final Round of Arguments. The Preliminary, Quarter-Final, Semi-Final round of Arguments will take place in Government Law College, Mumbai and will be judged by eminent law practitioners, partners of Law Firms and Senior Counsels of the Bombay High Court the likes of which include the current Advocate-General of Maharashtra: Mr. Darius Khambata; Mr. Aspi Chinoy, Mr. Milind Sathe, , Mr. Fredun De Vitre amongst others. The Final Round of Arguments will be held at Indian Merchant Chambers, Churchgate and will be presided by a bench of 3 sitting judges of the Bombay High Court comprising of Hon’ble Smt Justice R. S Dalvi, Hon’ble Mr. Justice R. M. Savant and Hon’ble Mr. Justice R. D. Dhanuka.

No comments yet: share your views