•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Ex-Nalsar registrar Acharyulu, ex-SC judges Mishra, Prasad, Chauhan, ex-CJ apply to become Lokpal head

Ex-Nalsar registrar Acharyulu
Ex-Nalsar registrar Acharyulu

Retired Supreme Court judges justices Gyan Sudha Mishra, CK Prasad and Balbir Singh Chauhan, were nominated by the apex court to head the proposed Lokpal ombudsman. Also in the running is retired Jharkhand high court chief justice and current Appellate Tribunal for Electricity chairman M Karpaga Vinayagam, reported the PTI.

Information Commissioner Sridhar Acharyulu, who was professor and registrar at Nalsar Hyderabad until 2013, and advocate Viney Bhushan Bhatia have also applied.

The list of names, which also includes candidates working as teachers, social workers, journalists, retired IAS and IPS officers and others from civil society, was disclosed by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) after an order by the Information Commissioner Information Commissioner Sudhir Bhargava in favour of Right to Information (RTI) activist Subhash Agrawal.

380 have applied to be non-judicial members of the Lokpal, while 23 applied to become judicial members.

The continuation of the process is dependent on constitution of a new search committee, which requires an amendment to the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013, reported PTI.

Update: LiveLaw has published the full list here.

Click to show 7 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.