•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

A list of ex-Supreme Court judges heading tribunals, from KGB to Katju & more

The Hindu has compiled a handy (but non-exhaustive list) of judicial and quasi-judicial bodies headed by retired SC judges, after Arun Jaitley’s and others’ comments criticising the existing rules about ex-judges’ appointments.

1. The National Human Rights Commission: Chairperson Justice K.G. Balakrishnan, former Chief Justice of India. Member Justice G.P. Mathur.

The Law Commission of India: Chairperson Justice P.V. Reddy.

3. The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission: President Justice Ashok Bhan.

4. The Press Council of India: Chairperson Justice Markandey Katju.

5. The Competition Appellate Tribunal of India: Chairman Justice V.S. Sirpurkar.

6. Justice Lokeshwar Singh Panta, who was appointed Chairperson of the National Green Tribunal, resigned to become the Lokayukta of Himachal Pradesh. A sitting Supreme Court judge, Justice Swatanter Kumar, is to be appointed Chairperson.

7. The Armed Forces Tribunal: Chairperson Justice A.K. Mathur.

8. The Telecom Disputes Settlement and Appellate Tribunal: Chairperson Justice S.B. Sinha.

9. The Uttar Pradesh Human Rights Commission: Chairperson Justice H.K. Sema.

10. The West Bengal Human Rights Commission: Chairperson Justice Asok Kumar Ganguly.

11. The Madhya Pradesh Lokayukta: Justice P. P. Naolekar.

[And more at The Hindu and Express]

No comments yet: share your views