•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Dushyant Dave's quiet and unassuming campaign gives him a thumping vote of confidence as SCBA president [UPDATE-1]

Dave wins second term resoundingly
Dave wins second term resoundingly

The results for the SCBA election for the posts of office-bearers were declared tonight, after the completion of suspenseful polling today. 

Although many expected Dushyant Dave to be reelected as the President, the scale of his victory has been surprising.  Many believed that it would be  a close contest between him and Shivaji Munjajirao Jadhav.  According to sources, Jadhav had spent a lot in bringing many outstation voters to Delhi to vote for him today, in order to neutralize the popularity of Dave among the voters.  

But this has not yielded sufficient results, with Dave establishing a clear lead of 415 votes over his nearest rival, Jadhav. 

It appears that Dave's unassuming style of campaign, and his track record during the past one year has won him many supporters, many of whom see him as a source of strength and security. Last year, his margin of victory was just 41.  A huge mandate in his favour this year not only indicates the voters' endorsement of what he had done during the past one year, but their expectation that he would continue to do, even if not surpass, what he had done during his first term as president.

The victory of senior advocate Ajit Kumar Sinha as vice president with a margin of 17 votes over his nearest rival, senior advocate Indu Malhotra is equally surprising, as the likelihood of a victory for the latter was high amongst many observers.

The contest for the secretary's post was essentially between the Uttar Pradesh Additional Advocate General, Gaurav Bhatia, and advocate V.K.Biju, hailing from Kerala. 

That the result has gone in favour of Bhatia is not considered a surprise.  There were as many as 10 candidates for the post, and Bhatia was a strong contender among them, in view of his professional standing, and promise.

Amit Anand Tiwari, who was an Executive Member, during his previous term, has been elected as Treasurer.  Two members of the outgoing Executive Committee, Senior Advocate, June Chaudhari and Devashish Bharuka, have however lost this time.  Chaudhari, who was a senior Executive Member, contested for the post of Vice-President, and Bharuka, who was Joint Treasurer, contested for the post of Secretary.   

The personal standing of candidates, rather than what the outgoing team might have achieved during its term, was clearly a strong determining factor amongst voters when they exercised their franchise.

The results of election to the post of Senior Executive Members and Executive Members will be known tomorrow.

Click to show 4 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.