Read 10 comments as:
Filter By
I graduated from a tier 2 nlu and got place in one if the Big 4s.

I joined a tier 3 law firm in Jan this year after quitting my job in one of the Big 4s. Reason was that the job in Big 4 was kind of monotonous where I wasn't gaining any transferable skill, and I wanted to move to a more challenging role in core law.

The work part in the law firm was manageable, although the hours were long. I was a complete fresher to the kind of work at the firm (which is something the firm too was aware of), but I was learning as much as I could. It was TMT practice and the work is no rocket science that you can't get better at with practice.

However, the culture was nothing like what experienced in my previous job. The current firm had 12 people in total and there was no sort of mentoring and guidance that was offered, on top of the rude and unprofessional behaviour from colleagues, which made things difficult for me. Unfortunately I had to speak up against the culture once, and I had decided to leave by then. But I thought I would stay till they fire and look for another job in the meantime. The inevitable did happen today and was fired from the job for "fittment issues."

I am shy and introverted and have ADHD. But I have managed do ok all my life with that. So this does make me feel lost and dumb and not fit for work. I don't think I am cut out for law, the one subject I was passionate about my all life. I have been an above average student all my life. In my previous organisation too, I was a decent employee who had no issues whatsoever with anyone. So this has really affected my confidence.

I can't go back to working in a law firm as my mental health is in shambles right now and I can't handle the insane work culture or hours at a law firm. I have decided to take a break and subsequently switch my field.

I currently need some advice regarding the below: