Read 17 comments as:
Filter By
I am a third year student of a lower ranked, tier 1 NLU. My cumulative percentage is above average in regards to my batch but last sem I flunked in one of the subject and I have heard that it will show in my report card. I want to know how much will it effect my placements and what should I do to recover for the same. Please help, I get sleepless nights thinking that I won't land a job.
First of all, you've falied the subject already. No point of sleepless nights now.
Secondly, if you clear the paper eventually, it won't show up on your final marksheet. Now, what is final marksheet? The one you'd get at the end of your course.
People fail all the time. It's okay. I got a back in 4 subjects throughout my law school, and I did just fine in placements.
I've also seen people getting year backs and then flourishing in their careers later. You'll be fine.
If you're from a T1 NLU, then don't fret, one back won't matter. Yes, it does show up on your report card, but only as a small asterisk in a veeerry long document that most recruiters won't even see. Recruitments happen on the basis of your CV. As long as your CV is strong, the back won't matter, I can say this with complete confidence. Especially since you have more than 50% of your degree left.

What I will say is that study well in the future semesters, try to shore up your grades/rank - it is not the be-all-end-all marker, but it is the first thing any recruiter sees. And build your CV through strategic internships and extracurriculars. Good luck!
LOL

Chill out buddy

I had batchmates who had year-backs and still managed to find a job (though, not immediately after graduation, but soon after anyway). In the long term, this does not matter at all.
What on earth is a lower-ranked tier-1 NLU? You mean NLUJ or GNLU or is it NUJS?
Why are there so many downvotes to this without any reply? It's a fair question, tbh.