Read 17 comments as:
Filter By
Hey, i graduated from a middle tier nlu last year. Since it has been more than 14 months since I completed my degree will I be able to get into any law firm or not? I check on LinkedIn and other job portals and apply almost everyday but I have not received a single reply to this day.
I was preparing for govt exams but I won't be able to continue that because of financial reasons. Also, I don't have any corporate work experience as all my internship were in Litigation. Please guide me as to what should I do now. With every single day passing by, i think doors are closing for me.
I know my words won’t mean much but all I can say is hang in there. Things will definitely get better. Trust me. Just see it from larger perspective, when you will be 60-65, you won’t care much about not working for 1 year. Keep applying for anything and everything diligently and you will get your big break soon rather than later. I went through same ordeal as you and I got my 1st proper job, a year after graduating. Remember, this too shall pass.
Apply to a third-class law firm which has a practice area in common with tier-1. Work there for a few years. Gain experience. Switch.
This is quite true. Start at a place that is Tier 3 or Tier 4. In two years, you'll be able to shift as an A0/A1 at a Tier 1.
2 years ? I've been 3 years at a Tier 3 but all the offers I get are from other Tier 3s only, albeit offering a raise.
This. Specially tons on Tier 3 firms have a roaring Arbitration and DRT practice. The pay is shit but it will open doors.
Ignore this thread for a while as I don't have a solution . Now decided that atleast I can give Hope and correct perspective .

1. Please understand that there is job crisis. It's Hunger Games / Survival of the fittest. Welcome to reality check.

2. Please know that law is a very specialized field . STEM fields have much much more job opportunities.