Read 38 comments as:
Filter By
I'm including even NLSIU here. On reflection, after 5 years of an NLU education and 10 years of working in India, do you feel it better to send your kids abroad in even a relatively less prestigious law school abroad than NLSIU? For example, SMU in Singapore, or Manchester or Liverpool in the UK, or Osgoode Hall or UBC in Canada, or Deakin in Australia?

Incidentally, there has been a case where a person once declined NLSIU to study for an LLB in Singapore (though NUS not SMU).
I graduated from NLSIU and I’m honoured to have studied there. However, the living conditions in the hostels will put me off from sending my kids to study there, if I choose to have kids. This is just me being brutally honest - it doesn’t take away from the excellent library and top-quality education provided at NLSIU. So maybe if hostels are renovated, then sure yes! Also, I shudder to think of the competition kids have to face in the next 15-20 years to make it to the top colleges! Frankly, I think developed countries provide a kind of β€˜insurance’ where one can still lead a good life without graduating from an NLU. That said, jobs and salaries have been steadily rising in India so I’m hopeful for a better future.
I've been to NLSIU hostels plenty of times. The only people who cannot bear to live there even during their student lives are entitled brats. For them, there's always Jindal.
I’m sure this is a tone-deaf man commenting. Be a woman, know what it is, and see how disgusting the washrooms are. Maybe you have a non-existent sense of hygiene or you’re just someone who is content with less/lazy to work for more. Clearly you’re a man because you couldn’t have seen women’s hostels. For non-aspirational people like you, Jindal is unaffordable :P