Read 18 comments as:
Filter By
Hi guys - so I've been working at a T1 law firm for a few years. My expenses are low and I'm making enough (based on what I need - you keep bashing on this aside pls) for my expenses. Consider low expenses - I've saved some money as well and can do with a job paying me half of what I earn and live comfortably as i am now.

I want to know when do you guys think this entire rat race ends? I'm beginning to feel and want your views on finding out what's the end goal of this toxic work schedule that is becoming the norm than the expectation.

To the partners / senior partners / ppl who've paid their dues to the profession - is it worth it? I've been considering switching to a lighter role and want to know what you guys feel.
Its not, my friend. You are on the right track. Take up something else. Maybe give back to the world through some efforts. Maybe teach? so many positions for people of your qualification.
If you can live on less and don't fall prey to fomo, move to a position which you actually enjoy doing.

I personally intend to work until I can amass 25 times my annual expenditure in investments. I hope to reach that goal shortly. But, the only difference is that I actually like my job.
25x, based on the trinity study, is for 30 year retirements invested in US securities and it was backtested against the most successful securities market of the world for the period of time that the world has grown the most. If you check discussions by bogleheads, people are preparing for a 0% post-tax real return world given the changing demographics and its impact on growth.

Long winded way of saying: 25x is too little by the estimation of most Indian FIRE proponents. The 95% confidence interval of the trinity study for 30 year periods also gets impacted significantly if you're REing at all time highs / high CAPE Shiller Ratios (like now). ERN has a beautiful post about this.