Read 21 comments as:
Filter By
I'm a first generation lawyer. I've come up the hard way. No contacts nothing. Industry wasn't the most welcoming place but now I'm made my space and made it to a PA level. Recently someone was hired in my team. It's quite clear that the hiring was purely done on the basis of the surname i.e. the Kid had familial connections in the industry and didn't get in the door on merit. As a first generation lawyer, is it wrong that I want to puke every time I'm asked to train this kid?
There is a reason why firms do not particularly discourage quota kids. Partners dont mind having these people on board even if they are not the best minds is because contacts and connections go a long way in bringing business to the firm. Govt officials contact/ goodwill has their own benefits. That is how business in India works and that is how its going to work for a foreseeable future. Change it, if you can, after you make it to a point where you can make a difference.
Yes. But training someone is within your gift. Should you be obligated to train someone who you know hasn't come in the door via merit?
It is wrong. Can't be good for your stomach and digestive system. You should get some anti-nausea meds and consult a doctor.
What an asshole. Now imagine if β€˜nepo kids’ started doing this.
For me, the question is to firs ask is whether someone made is to the merit list in CLAT and then ask whether that person's GPA in college is in the top 10. Everything else is subjective .