Read 45 comments as:
Filter By
I graduated this year from school. My childhood dream was getting into SRCC, but achieving that came with quite a bit of anxiety and frustration when the boards got cancelled. So instead I had to focus on CLAT, which was my backup option at the time. I studied my ass for it, and ended up at NALSAR this year. I did end getting into SRCC, but it was already quite late and I fell prey to my parents' presure who wanted me to pursue a "professional" degree.
The problem, however, started when I came to frequent LI- and read of the struggle of those graduates without kin in the legal fraternity, extremely low pay in the initial years and on the other spectrum, long and toxic work environments of law firms. All of you sound like you're having to deal with real issues, and I can empathize with you but this might not be a life path I would want to see spiral into. I might be very young, but it pains me to make and ponder over my own choice.
I'm doing well, not exceptionally brilliant here at NALSAR, I performed fairly well in my midsems and whatever I'm studying is interesting and I do enjoy it a bit, but I don't know if law is worth pursuing.
Sorry for this rant, but my question for you is would do it differently? Not opt for law? Do you think it would be wise to leave NALSAR for SRCC next year(if I make it through again lol)?
Next year they’ll have cucet not cut offs, so it will be difficult. Ask yourself if you want to do law. You’ll be burnt out in any high paying profession in India until you don’t like it.
I would recommend finishing your degree from NALSAR and if you still don't like what you see while doing internships then you can always exit law.

I know someone who did Law from one of the tier 1 NLUs and finally ended up in world bank after higher studies. Also, lots of people end up as journalists, civil servants, Researchers in Think tanks etc. All of which have very little to do with core law.