Read 27 comments as:
Filter By
I am a 2020 graduate, started working right after college (after no breaks right from the 3rd year of law school, all semester breaks spent interning). I am burnt out, I lack motivation, and there is nothing that pushes me to do better at work. I feel stuck, I don't know where I am heading to. I come from a financially stable background, but my family and I aren't rich enough to afford a long sabbatical / foreign LLM to buy time. Also, the risk of not being able to find a job after a sabbatical also looms. I am not confident in my abilities, not sure if I will get another job with my current skillset. There seems to be no escape from the rut, as a consequence, I am losing out on a "normal / healthy" life. I am so anxious that I can hear the MS Teams ringtone in my sleep, on weekends, and on holidays (when I am not working). In my free / idle time, pending work tasks haunt me - a simple work related text / call triggers my anxiety. Weekends are a luxury, and most of the public holidays are spent working too. I somehow push myself to meet my friends (luckily I am working from my hometown - dont know what will happen when offices reopen), spend enough time with my girlfriend, and try to workout. Yet, I do not feel good. I feel stuck, lost, anxious, and angry. I am just wasting my time away, throwing away my youth. I don't know how to get of this phase - nothing motivates me. My current state is also affecting my work performance adversely, so I fear losing my present job too. I really wish I find a way out. Its just a rant, I really hope that none of those who are reading this feel the way I do. But if you do, I am here to lend you an ear. If you have overcome such a phase then please share your experience, it will be very helpful. Thanks.

(P.S. - I am deliberately not mentioning the "tier" of my law school or law firm. People across tiers could be stuck the way I am, I believe.)