Read 16 comments as:
Filter By
So as you can tell from the title I don't study in a NLU but a decentish private college in my first year. The college does promise placements but to be on a safer side I want to make sure from my end that I can get a job without my college. I am still in my first year so I know I have a lot of time in my hand but would someone be kind enough and tell me what are the things I can do during these five years to build a CV good enough to get a job in a law firm ? Thank you in advance.
Aside from moots, debates, essays, blogs, research papers etc etc, maintain good grades and start working towards a narrowed down field of law from third year onwards. If you do well in your Internships in last 2 years (you have a good enough chance for a PPO), also try finding your family contacts in law firms or start building contacts by speaking to people online (not a good or bad thing but just how things stand).
And don't let the bias towards Tier 2 colleges, private or NLUs, here on LI let you down, as long as you commit to your goal I'm sure you'll get what you desire.
You can just know your basic law and have a decent personality (i.e., not being a jackass), and you'll cut into any law firm. Telling you from experience. Just do the normal stuff well and have some fun in college.