Read 32 comments as:
Filter By
I am a graduate of a tier 1 law school and have been working in a tier 1 firm. I used to think the upside of this work was getting paid well. After getting the money in hand and spending I realised that it is not as much as I thought it was considering how expensive things are, and I had been taking my dad's hard earned money for granted. The fresher salaries have not increased to accommodate the increasing cost of living unlike other fields. My friends are all engineers and almost all of them whether they are from a tier 1 college, tier 2 or tier 3 college earn as much as me or more than me, with godly incentives and less work pressure, after 2+ PQE, as I had taken re-attempts of entrances.
I just want to ask seniors that I don't mind the work (yet) which is boring and even nerve-racking at times, but if I am not doing something good for the society or for myself and am not earning well, what's the upside of my job? What does my knowledge and effort amount to, of which I was very proud of in law school, when dancing people on reels cross my annuals with a finger-snap? I know that I am speaking from a position of gross privilege but I just want to know these answers so that I can take the best possible decision for myself.
β€œI am surprised by humanity. Because a man sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.” Dalai Lama.

Don't die never having lived.

Forwarded as received
I mean well and am trying to show you the positives... Don't hate me.

1. Work gets more interesting as you go up the ladder, I promise