Read 22 comments as:
Filter By
I am a 5th Year law student, Have read some threads here.

And what I understood is that a beginner lawyers (associates) life is stressful in a Tier 1 Law Firm. 13 hours of work and almost no off days. And many junior lawyers drop out of these firms in first 2 to 4 years.

But stress reduces over the years-once you become a senior associate and principle associates and even lesser stress as you become a partner and almost all work is done by junior lawyers.

No matter whether they work or not - once a lawyer is made as a partner, then it is a life time job...... But it takes 10 to 15 years.

Throughout your life you will get a share of the law firms profit and work stress is very less. But the hard part is becoming a partner at a law firm.

Is this true? - that law firms stress you out till you are a partner and then it reduces.
Mostly not true. Your working hours will definitely reduce if you want to work less, but the stress will remain the same because as a partner you are accountable to the client.

Getting a share of the firm's profit is not true either. Not all partners get a share of the firm's profit. The differentiation between salaried partner and equity partner exists at most firms.
If one becomes an equity partner. Then is the income permanent for a lifetime (firms profit)?
Partners retire just like other professionals. Because unless older partners retire how will new incoming partners get their share of equity (unless the firm keeps diluting everyone's share)? So an equity partner receives part of the firm's net profits until they retire, usually at 60-65.
I'd say partners are more likely to be fired. The buck stops at them. Plus they are also responsible for revenue. Many of the exits you'd see (including those in the annals of LI) are fueled by failures to meet targets.