Read 10 comments as:
Filter By
What is the minimum number of years one should work for in a chamber or a law firm before going independent?

I have over 3 years of experience in the litigation team of a law firm and iā€™m thinking to start my own practice.
Simple test is, if you leave today, will you have clients? The right time is when the answer is yes.
Lol, so people will just keep downvoting comments wanting a discussion, instead of discussing it actually?
If one were to wait for clients before embarking on a shift to litigation, it would be nothing but a monumental waste of time. Litigation is unlike corporate hum drum of fixed silos. One of the best ways to shift from law firms to litigation at 9+ PQE is through Government/panel appointments, which would give a lot of face time before the judges and remarkable opportunities to network. When you start your litigation career, most of the referrals would be from other advocates who do not practice in your chosen field, in exchange for 1/3rd as referral fee. If one were to get appointed as a standing counsel, which is relatively easy, there would be no need at all to wait for clients. The Union/State/Corporation/Municipality/Panchayat would be your client. It will provide enough to meet your expenses. In addition to that, you are entitled to take private disputes, matrimonial disputes, arbitration and general advisory/drafting. After three or so years, you would have built up a solid network and reputation in your area. Things will take off from there.