Read 17 comments as:
Filter By
Hello,

I'm a final year law student, I've interned at some law firms (virtually) and as a result of it, I don't have much idea about the professional hierarchy at law firms.

I'm confused about whether to pursue an MBA or not after law school.

I just want to know whether law firms are equally rewarding (economically) or not if we compare them with Top Consulting Firms.

Further, how long does it take to become an Equity Partner at a Law Firm?

I've heard that Equity Partners generally earn in the range of 2.5cr-5 cr. Is it true?

It would be great if people on LI can help me in arriving at an informed decision.

ThanksΒ 
This might be a useful starting point from 2014, though mostly about salary partnership: https://www.legallyindia.com/law-firms/partnership-track-at-indias-top-firms-20140509-4697

The tl;dr from that suggests it takes between 9 and 13 years to make EP on average (though it excludes the many many who never make EP or leave the profession or firms before they do). It also does not explicitly take account of equity partnerships at all firms (and is a bit outdated).

As far as we understand, being an equity partner (besides the promoter equity) at most firms doesn't necessarily translate into a huge bump up in pay, though it can. It would very much depend on the exact equity model (or even non-equity revenue share model) that a firm follows, and potentially also how much your own team makes, etc.
8 days and 0 replies. People here seem to have completely given up on law firms.
If you don't get a reply here you won't get anywhere else. This is probably the most law firm obsessed place.
Answering purely on the financially rewarding part: