Read 29 comments as:
Filter By
So L&L is splitting and apparently my entire time is shifting to the new firm. I’m a 2020 grad and it hasn’t been a full year. I can’t decide if I should move. How should I make this decision?
Choose whoever is giving you more money. As is pretty obvious by now, they don't care much about you. So please stop doing drama here & in your head & go where the money is.
But will they even let us know how much they will pay us before we have to make the decision?
This is very sound advice. You're just 1 year into the profession. If you don't like whichever firm you decide to move/ stay, you can switch after a year. Even if you leave Luthra for MS, Luthra might be happy to take you back after a year, if you're good.Just go with more pay.
If you are happy with your team, they mentor you well, generally hit targets, and their is scope for growth, go wherever the team goes. While there is something to be said about firm culture, what is more important is team culture.
I sort of want to move/stay based on where I’ll still get some time to myself. I’m worried that the new firm would be too harsh on us and make us work round the clock and break our backs.
As the mail also tried to glorify round the clock work. This is not something which should be glorified. You lose efficiency that way. And a burnout follows. Then people crib why associates are leaving the firms so soon.
both firms will equally have the "we must win" attitude, so that pressure will exist in both.
Stay with the brand- notwithstanding the beating, it has immense recall value (something that may be difficult for you to understand at this stage but it's the reality!). SLO, while it promises to be anything but slow, in reality it will actually take 5 years in gaining the trust of the market and establishing itself.

The partners on either sides are good and most carry their weight but it's the brand that's going to be the biggest distinguishing factor initially.