Read 17 comments as:
Filter By
Have done a couple of virtual internships at Tier 1 and 2 law firms. There is hardly any work allocated, and even if it is, it’s mostly research related.
I’ll be starting my 5th year next month and it’s bothering to see that even if one is getting internships, they’re hardly useful. How will assessments take place and what are some ways in which one can get work? Especially considering that we hardly know the people who we’re working with (because everything is virtual) and people aren’t willing to delegate work, maybe due to confidentiality issues.
Have faced the same. Thought it’s not true for everyone, it is for most of us.
Keep asking for work, you’ll get some eventually, there’s nothing else that can be done other then depending on 1-2 people who actually give you work.
I agree. If it's from a SA or a PA - count yourself lucky. Getting work from them is a blessing in a virtual set-up and make the most out of it. I'm a T1 Intern too and not at all short of work at the moment.
I'm an Associate with one of the tier-1s. Here are some tips:

1. Don't hesitate to ask around for work. Check LinkedIn to see who works in what practice area and shoot them an email requesting for work. Compared to working from office, this may offer you more flexibility in choosing what work to do. If an associate doesn't have work to delegate, they may refer a colleague.

2. Ask for feedback. I'm always happy to get on a call with an intern or email them with feedback if I have the time. Some associates may not want to, but there's no harm in asking.

3. Speak to HR. You can always call up HR and tell them you do not have any work assigned to you at the moment. Depending on the firm, HR may proactively find you some work to do.