Read 16 comments as:
Filter By
I am a law student studying at a prominent Bombay college. I intend to give the solicitors exam. Is the 3 years of article ship worth it? Because if I graduate in 2022 I'll give the exam in 2024 then, assuming I start my articles now. What about my designation and salary at the firm after graduating? Because financially it will not be possible to be paid amounts like 10-15k per month after I graduated but still serving my articles? Does giving the exam and qualifying help in the long run?
Honestly,if you are an Articled clerk at a Tier 1/Tier 2 firm,you will definitely be absorbed as an Associate as soon as you Graduate. Its just a matter of where you sign your articles and do you actually want to give the exam or want to simply do the articleship for the sake of gaining experience - many people belong to the latter camp.
But there is a caveat here,finding an articleship at a Tier 1 firm is no mean feat. Its much harder than getting a job sometimes as many firms do not have any defined policy for hiring Articled clerks. Many a times its just people getting in with a solid reference.
Coming to your 1st question,signing your articles is definitely worth the time and effort provided you are consciously learning something every single day.After the 2.5/3 year period ends its up to you whether you want to actually sit for the attempt or discontinue.Even if you have seriously studied for the exam,you'll gain loads of knowledge at the end of the process.Also choosing a good boss is important or else you will be stuck with a bad senior for 3 important years of your life.
All the best.
I was at a firm which had a lot of solicitors. You would be both thoroughly impressed and appalled by the people who have cleared the exam with top ranks.

I think 10 years ago, the answer would have been a resounding "yes". But not anymore.