•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Breaking: Sondhi wins Delhi Bar Council election in 22nd (UPDATE - all winners)

Sole law firm candidate and Luthra & Luthra partner Vijay Sondhi has won a seat on the Delhi Bar Council in 22nd place out of 25 candidates with almost 640 votes.

Sondhi said that he felt good and that the win was a vindication of the tenets of his campaign.

"I think [it was] the cause we have propounded that here should be change in the Bar Council. Eight new faces have come in, all of whom are practising lawyers," he said.

"We feel that we'll be able to change the face of the Bar Council," he added.

Out of the total of 25 new members, eight were not incumbents (see full list below).

Sondhi came 22nd out of 25, but he maintained that his margin had always been secure throughout.

"We were never out of the safe zone," he said. "Between the second-to-last person we had more than 100 votes margin - it was a very safe margin."

Sondhi said that the Delhi High Court was an example to other courts around the country, having recently launched the first first digital court experiment and having started up an in-court abitration centre.

Sondhi was the only candidate from a major law firm contesting for the Delhi Bar Council election.

Luthra & Luthra managing partner Rajiv Luthra commented: "It was a very, very serious uphill task, simply because it was a first ever."

"Traditionally members of law firms don't go to vote," he added. "It was a real challenge."

Since the vote ended on 2 December, the laborious counting process has been ongoing. Visit our live Delhi Bar Council election coverage and find out more about how it all happened.

In Maharashtra and Goa, ALMT partner Hitesh Jain is also standing for election to the local Bar Council with voting set to take place on 7 January 2009 in courts throughout the state.

The confirmed list of all elected Delhi Bar Council winners:
Abhay Kumar Verma
Adish Chandra Aggarwala
Amit Sharma*
Jaiveer Nagar*
K K Manan
K K Sareen
Murari Tiwari
Nitin Alhawat*
O P Faizi
Puneet Mittal*
R S Chauhan
R S Goswami
Rajesh Mishra*
Rajinder Singh Rana
Rajiv Khosla
Rakesh Kochhar*
Rakesh Sherawat
Rakesh Tiku*
Ramesh Gupta
Rana Praween Siddiqui
Sarla Kaushik
Surya Prakash Khatri
Ved Prakash Sharma
Vijay Kumar Sondhi*

*denotes a non-incumbent

Click to show 7 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.