•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Aggarwala drops out of SCBA 2013 Elections: Dares Parekh to re-enter; Parekh shrugs

Adish Aggarwala: openly challenges Parekh
Adish Aggarwala: openly challenges Parekh
Exclusive: Senior advocate Adish Aggarwala, who was contesting for the office of the Supreme Court Bar Assocation’s (SCBA) president in the SCBA elections next Thursday, withdrew his candidature yesterday. He cited the removal of his name from the SCBA’s voter list, blaming SCBA president PH Parekh.

Aggarwala told Legally India yesterday: “I withdrew because [the tenure of office bearers from] this election is only up to May 8 so there is no utility. Also the voter list was not being properly conducted. They had issued a list saying, ‘those who have not paid arrears will not be in the voter list’. Once you have released the list how you can delete [names]? If you have a valid ground to delete, delete first, then ask for nomination.”

Aggarwala, who was voted in as the chairman of the Delhi bar council briefly in March, told Legally India that the SCBA had excluded his name from the initial voter list of 1500 members, but were later “forced” to include it. He alleged that a letter written by Parekh was “instrumental” in his initial exclusion.

Parekh denied that he had ever written such a letter.

Aggarwala claimed that his own candidature was the real reason for Parekh to withdraw from the presidential race, and that for the previous three months Parekh had been actively campaigning for his election to the post. Aggarwala said that if Parekh decided to throw his name in the ring again he would re-enter too and defeat the incumbent in the election.

“If [Aggarwala] has so much confidence he will win, then why not contest?” asked Parekh, and reiterated that he decided to withdraw from the race, as reported by Legally India on Monday, because of an incident on the Supreme Court lawns during a “law day” function between him and suspended SCBA secretary KC Kaushik.

Aggarwala’s withdrawal now leaves five candidates for the post of president, including previous SCBA presidents Ram Jethmalani and MN Krishnamani, previous vice presidents PK Jain and Rupinder Suri, and senior advocate Rajiv Dutta.

Owing to a new requirement that you could vote only in the SCBA if you voted in no other bar association elections, and appeared frequently in the Supreme Court, the voter list for the 13 December elections has reduced to 1,372 members.

Click to show 2 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.