•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU Jodhpur gets to quarters in Stetsons International Moot, narrows Nalsar lead

Mooting Premier League sponsored by Clifford Chance
Mooting Premier League sponsored by Clifford Chance

NLU Jodhpur extended its lead in second place of the Mooting Premier League (MPL) by racking up 14 points in the world finals of the 14th Stetson International Environmental Moot Court competition in the US.

NLU Jodhpur was knocked out in the quarter finals of the event but NLU Jodhpur mooters Kartikey Mahajan and Rashi Ahooja won the fifth and sixth best orator awards respectively, thereby gaining 7 points each as honorable mentions for best orators.  

This takes the tally of NLU Jodhpur to 94 points in the Mooting Premier League sponsored by Clifford Chance.

NLU Jodhpur now trails Nalsar Hyderabad by only 38 points for the top spot in the MPL.

NLU Jodhpur was one of four teams from India in the world finals. The college had earlier won the North India qualifying rounds of the event and along with Amity Law School New Delhi had qualified for the world finals.

Kerala Law Academy, Thiruvanthapuram had won the Stetson South India rounds and qualified along with New Law College Bharti Vidyapeeth Pune.

The Stetson International Environmental Moot Court was organised by the US American Stetson University and was held last weekend (11 to 14 March 2010).

University of Maryland School of Law (USA) won the event defeating Law Society of Ireland Cork in the finals. The winning team was represented by Molly Knoll, April Morton, and William Tilburg.

Ateneo de Manila University Philippines bagged the best memorial while Lyndsey Clarke of Law Society of Ireland Cork bagged the best orator.

The MPL is sponsored by Clifford Chance and the top eight ranked law colleges will share a generous prize fund of Rs 1.5 lakhs provided by the firm.

2009-10 Mooting Premier League rankings, sponsored by Clifford Chance

Law school Points Wins
Nalsar Hyderabad 132
IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy South (best team, best memorial); Nani Palkhiwala (best memorial), Bar Council of India (best team); KK Luthra (runners-up, best speaker); NLIU Tankha (runners-up, best memo); MM Singhvi (best memo); Jessup South (runner-up); DM Harish (best researcher); Surana Corporate (best team, best memorial); SP Sathe (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (runners up); NUJS Herbert Smith (best team, best memorial); Surana Int'l Tech Moot (best memorial); Amity Moot (runners up, best orator, best memorial, best researcher)
2. NLU Jodhpur 94
Nalsar B.R.Sawhney (runners-up, best memorial); Stetson North (best team, best memorial); Jessup North (best team, best orator); Surana Corporate (runners up, best orator); SP Sathe (best memorial); KLA Moot (best team, best orator); NUJS Herbert Smith (runners-up); Surana Int'l Tech Moot (best orator); Amity Moot (best team); Stetson International (5th & 6th best orator)
3. NLSIU Bangalore 78 Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate), Bar Council of India (best orator); KK Luthra (best memorial); MM Singhvi (best researcher); Jessup South (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (best memorial)
School of Excellence in Law (SOEL) Chennai 43
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team); Red Cross Asia Pacific (semi-finalist; honourable mention best memorial)
ILS Law College Pune 31
Bar Council of India (runners-up); DM Harish (runners-up); NUJS Herbert Smith (best speaker); Surana International Tech Moot (best team); ULC Bangalore Moot (best team)
6. NLIU Bhopal 29
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawhney (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best memorial); MM Singhvi (runners-up)
Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai 26
KK Luthra (best team); MM Singhvi (best team); DM Harish (best orator, best memorial)
Amity Law School IP University Delhi 25
IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up), Jessup North (best memorial)
9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala 18 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team); ULC Bangalore Moot (Best Memorial)
Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 14
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial), Jessup North (runner-up)
10. Symbiosis, Pune 14 Nani Palkhiwala (runners up, best orator); GNLU International Moot Court (runners up); ULC Bangalore Moot (runners-up)
12. Nuals Kochi 13 Surana Trial Advocacy North (runners-up); Jessup South (best memorial); Surana International Tech Moot (runners up)
13. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
13. University Institute of Laws PURC, Ludhiana
11 Surana trial advocacy north rounds (best team, best orator)
15. Law School, Bangalore 10 ULC Bangalore Moot (best orator, best researcher)
15. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
NLU Delhi
DM Harish (best team)
18. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy South (runners up, best orator)
19. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
19. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
CNLU Patna
GNLU International Moot (best memorial)
21. Government Law College Ernakulam 5 MM Singhvi (best orator)
21. Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 5 Surana Trial Advocacy North (best memorial)
21. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
25. Campus Law Centre Delhi 3 SP Sathe (runners up)
25. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

Click here for an updated (February 2010) list of the scoring criteria we are using.

Click to show 8 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.