•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Nalsar pulling out of reach of MPL chasing pack?


Nalsar's built up its strong Mooting Premier League lead this weekend at NUJS Kolkata when it won the NUJS Herbert Smith National Corporate Law Moot Court Competition held between 19 to 21 February.

Nalsar (pictured) also won the best memorial in the moot. This gives Nalsar 11 points in the league thereby giving them an enviable 31 point advantage over the second place NLS.

NLU Jodhpur, close on heels of NLS for the second spot was the runners up. This gives it 3 crucial points thereby reducing the margin from NLS. NLU Jodhpur trails NLS by only 14 points now.

Nalsar winners
Nalsar winners
{/ppgallery}Nikhil Chawla of ILS Law College, Pune bagged the best orator. This gives ILS 5 points. Although ILS stays in eighth place, the 5 points came in handy to pull further ahead of the previous joint eighth placed Law Centre-1, Delhi University.

The moot problem was based on cross border insolvency laws and was before the Calcutta High Court.

This was the second edition of the moot competition and Nalsar won the first edition also. This win of Nalsar comes in after two moot court wins over the last weekend and strong performance in the other two.

NUJS moot court convenor Amrita Biswas said: "We saw two senior partners from Herbert Smith coming down along with Professor James Edelman from Oxford. Having these people there who are experts in corporate law, we were able to ensure a good judging standards, which is one of teh most important things for any moot."

Next week, there are two more Tier 4 competitions; ULC Bangalore moot Competition and Surana and Surana International tech moot. Will NLS Bangalore be able to bounce back to make up in the losses of the past two weeks to Nalsar?

2009-10 Legally India Mooting Premier League table

Law school Points Wins
Nalsar Hyderabad 109
IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy South (best team, best memorial); Nani Palkhiwala (best memorial), Bar Council of India (best team); KK Luthra (runners-up, best speaker); NLIU Tankha (runners-up, best memo); MM Singhvi (best memo); Jessups South (runner-up); DM Harish (best researcher); Surana Corporate (best team, best memorial); SP Sathe (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (runners up); NUJS Herbert Smith (best team, best memorial)
2. NLSIU Bangalore 78 Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate), Bar Council of India (best orator); KK Luthra (best memorial); MM Singhvi (best researcher); Jessups South (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (best memorial)
NLU Jodhpur 64
Nalsar B.R.Sawney (runners-up); Stetson North (best team, best memorial); Jessups North (best team, best orator); Surana Corporate (runners up, best orator); SP Sathe (best memorial); KLA Moot (best team, best orator); NUJS Herbert Smith (runners-up)
4. NLIU Bhopal 34
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawney (best team, best orator, best memorial); Stetson South (best memorial); MM Singhvi (runners-up)
5. School of Excellence Chennai 29
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team)
Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai 26
KK Luthra (best team); MM Singhvi (best team); DM Harish (best orator, best memorial)
Amity Law School IP University Delhi 25
IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up), Jessups North (best memorial)
ILS Law College Pune
Bar Council of India (runners-up); DM Harish (runners-up); NUJS Herbert Smith (best speaker)
Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 14
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial), Jessups North (runner-up)
10. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala
13 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team)
11. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
Symbiosis, Pune
Nani Palkhiwala (runners up, best orator); GNLU International Moot Court (runners up)
11. University Institute of Laws PURC, Ludhiana
11 Surana trial advocacy north rounds (best team, best orator)
14. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
NLU Delhi
DM Harish (best team)
14. Nuals Kochi 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (runners-up); Jessups South (best memorial)
17. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy South (runners up, best orator)
18. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
18. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
CNLU Patna
GNLU International Moot (best memorial)
20. Government Law College Ernakulam 5 MM Singhvi (best orator)
20. Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 5 Surana Trial Advocacy North (best memorial)
20. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
24. Campus Law Centre Delhi 3 SP Sathe (runners up)
24. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

Click here for an updated (February 2010) list of the scoring criteria we are using.

Click to show 66 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.