•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Advantage Nalsar: Near clean sweep of weekend moots with Jodhpur


Early Mooting Premier League (MPL) leader NLSIU Bangalore has come under heavy pressure from both sides, as Nalsar Hyderabad took a massive lead and NLU Jodhpur closed in on second place.

Nalsar and NLU Jodhpur scored points in all three moots over the weekend, not counting the DM Harish moot, with Nalsar amassing 25 MPL points and NLU Jodhpur scoring 24.

Nalsar now leads with a huge 20 point margin before NLSIU Bangalore, which is now 17 points ahead of strong third-placed NLU Jodhpur.

Nalsar Hyderabad gained 11 MPL points in the Surana & Surana National Corporate Law Moot Court Competition organised by Army Institute of Law Mohali from 12 to 14 February. Nalsar beat NLU Jodhpur in the finals to take the best team prize and also won the best memorial award.

Adhirath Singh of NLU Jodhpur, meanwhile, won best orator giving NLU Jodhpur a total of 8 points from this tier 4 event.

Nalsar continued its dominance and picked up another 11 points at the tier 4 SP Sathe Memorial Moot Court Competition organized by ILS Pune from 12 to 14 February. Nalsar won the event defeating Campus Law Centre (CLC) Delhi University in the finals and Saurav Roy of Nalsar bagged best orator.

SP Sathe also allowed the team from NLU Jodhpur to continue its good performance, winning the best memorial and another 5 MPL points.

The NLU Jodhpur and Nalsar clean-up continued in the third tier 4 competition held this weekend with the Kerala Law Academy (KLA) Moot Court Competition. This time NLU Jodhpur won out over Nalsar in the final, while NLU Jodhpur's Piyush Singh also bagged the best orator.

NLU Jodhpur walked away with 11 points from the KLA competition, inching in close to NLSIU Bangalore.

NLSIU Bangalore managed to secure its second place for now after bagging the best memorial prize and its only 5 points this weekend. This was the 21st edition of the KLA Moot Competition.

Nalsar's performance over the weekend also included winning the best researcher at the DM Harish moot. The law school is now towering at the top of the MPL with 98 points and a 20 point lead over NLSIU Bangalore.

NLU Jodhpur's strong weekend showing means that it has pulled away from fourth-placed NLIU Bhopal by 27 points and is within grasping distance of the second spot and NLSIU Bangalore.

In the tier 3 ICC International Mediation Competition in Paris, which was organised from 6 to 10 February, none of the Indian teams managed to score points. The UK's Nottingham Trent University won the first prize with the University of South Wales in Australia taking the second place. This was the fifth edition of the competition organized by ICC’s amicable dispute resolution department. In all there were seven mock cases concerning international commercial disputes.

This coming weekend the NUJS Herbert Smith Moot court competition will take place.

We are also introducing a tie-breaker in the event of a tie for the top spots at the end of the competition. If the total points of teams are the same, we will take into account the total points scored by team wins only (excluding points such as runners-up, best speakers, memorials or researcher). In the event of a further tie, the next criteria will be runner-up points. Hopefully that should break any tie. If not, we will tally up the total number of wins, irrespective of each category and tier. Please let us know if you have any objections to this method.

2009-10 Legally India Mooting Premier League table

Law school Points Wins
Nalsar Hyderabad 98
IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy South (best team, best memorial); Nani Palkhiwala (best memorial), Bar Council of India (best team); KK Luthra (runners-up, best speaker); NLIU Tankha (runners-up, best memo); MM Singhvi (best memo); Jessups South (runner-up); DM Harish (best researcher); Surana Corporate (best team, best memorial); SP Sathe (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (runners up)
2. NLSIU Bangalore 78 Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate), Bar Council of India (best orator); KK Luthra (best memorial); MM Singhvi (best researcher); Jessups South (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (best memorial)
NLU Jodhpur 61
Nalsar B.R.Sawney (runners-up); Stetson North (best team, best memorial); Jessups North (best team, best orator); Surana Corporate (runners up, best orator); SP Sathe (best memorial); KLA Moot (best team, best orator)
4. NLIU Bhopal 34
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawney (best team, best orator, best memorial); Stetson South (best memorial); MM Singhvi (runners-up)
5. School of Excellence Chennai 29
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team)
Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai 26
KK Luthra (best team); MM Singhvi (best team); DM Harish (best orator, best memorial)
Amity Law School IP University Delhi 25
IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up), Jessups North (best memorial)
ILS Law College Pune
Bar Council of India (runners-up); DM Harish (runners-up)
Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 14
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial), Jessups North (runner-up)
10. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala
13 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team)
11. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
Symbiosis, Pune
Nani Palkhiwala (runners up, best orator); GNLU International Moot Court (runners up)
11. University Institute of Laws PURC, Ludhiana
11 Surana trial advocacy north rounds (best team, best orator)
14. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
NLU Delhi
DM Harish (best team)
14. Nuals Kochi 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (runners-up); Jessups South (best memorial)
17. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy South (runners up, best orator)
18. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
18. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
CNLU Patna
GNLU International Moot (best memorial)
20. Government Law College Ernakulam 5 MM Singhvi (best orator)
20. Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 5 Surana Trial Advocacy North (best memorial)
20. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
24. Campus Law Centre Delhi 3 SP Sathe (runners up)
24. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

Click here for an updated (February 2010) list of the scoring criteria we are using.

Click to show 37 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.