•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Nalsar leapfrogs to joint-second in Mooting Premier League


Nalsar Hyderabad has won the Surana Trial Advocacy moot, beating University Institute of Legal Studies (UILS), Punjab to move to joint second place in the Mooting Premier League; both NLIU, Bhopal and Nalsar are now closing in on NLSIU Bangalore.

The Nalsar team of Rohan Singh, Jagdish Menezes and Abhijit Kumar Pandey also won the Best Memorial.

Pranshu Chaturvedi of UILS, Punjab bagged the best orator. UILS, Punjab now enter the league table in eight place behind KLA, Thiruvanathapuram.

In September's Tier 4 competition NLIU Bhopal's Tankha Moot Court, which is now in its third edition, the Rajiv Gandhi National University Law (RGNLU), Patiala Team won beating Nalsar in the finals.

This win of the RGNUL team consisting of Roshni Chaddha, Shirin Malik and Bhumika Modh places RGNUL, Patiala in the fifth place in the Mooting Premier League.

School of Excellence Chennai won the best orator prize at Tankha, consolidating its position near the top of the league table after the points it scored in the Henry Dunant National rounds.

Nalsar bagged Tankha's best memorial award thereby strengthening its position in the league table.

2009-10 law school mooting league table

Law school Points Wins
1. NLSIU Bangalore 39
Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate)
2. Nalsar Hyderabad 31 IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy (best team, best memorial)
2. NLIU Bhopal 31
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawney (best team, best orator, best memorial); Stetson South (best memorial)
4. School of Excellence Chennai 23
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator)
5. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala
13 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team)
6. Amity Law School IP University Delhi 11 IICLAM (best team & best orator)
6. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
8. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
9. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy (runners up, best orator)
10. CLC Delhi University 7
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial)
10. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
12. GNLU, Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)
12. NLU Jodhpur 3 Nalsar B.R.Sawney (runners-up)

This latest update should now put Legally India's Mooting Premier League up to date with all MPL moots of the 2009-10 academic year.

We are grateful for everyone's enthusiasm but please bear with us if it takes a little while to update the results. We always try to confirm the results of competitions directly with the organizers or respective moot court committees so we can publish accurate information.

This weekend, we have the Stetson North India rounds which would decide as to which two colleges from the North would accompany KLA, Thiruvanthapuram and New Law College, Bharti Vidyapeeth, Pune all the way to the Stetson world finals in Florida, USA.

Update on included moots:
After discussions, Surana Trial Advocacy moots will remain unchanged.

We have also now included the K.K. Luthra Criminal Law Moot Court Competition, New Delhi as a Tier 4 moot.

Click here for a full list of the scoring criteria we are using.

Click to show 7 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.